Page 1 of 1

Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:48 pm
by docaberle
I'm new to netburner but not to Adobe Flash. Wondering why a swf file built in the Flash Integrated Development Environment can't communicate directly with the netburner device. The swf file when loaded onto the 5270 like in the demo works great, but why would I have to have the swf come from the 5270. Why can't I have the swf directly on my computer and have it talk to the code in the 5270. I guess this isn't a huge deal, but when you're writing code in Adobe Flash, it's really easy to test by hitting ctrl-enter. The compiled swf comes up on the screen and you're ready to go. This versus having to reupload and restart the 5270.

When I try to run it this way it simply won't connect. Maybe this isn't possible.

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:51 pm
by seulater
You can do this, you just need to take out the "null" for the IP adress to connect to and put the actual hardware IP address in there.
then you can hit your ctrl-enter and it will work ;)

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:08 pm
by docaberle
I have the netburner IP Setip at 10.1.1.8 and the computer at 10.1.1.5. I tried the combinations below and the swf said it was connected but didn't work otherwise. Is the formatting wrong? Flash help doesn't show this direct usage of the IP for reference.
!socket.connect("10.1.1.5", DestPortNum)
!socket.connect("10.1.1.8", DestPortNum)
!socket.connect("http://10.1.1.5", DestPortNum)
!socket.connect("http://10.1.1.8", DestPortNum)

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:20 pm
by seulater
are you using the flash example ?
or your own flash app ?

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:42 pm
by docaberle
The flash example

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:18 pm
by seulater
Well, i re-installed Flash so i could open the flash file to tell you what to do.
i put the IP address in there and tried it, it said connected and then closed. the same results you were getting.

One of the flash examples i posed in the files section, this ctrl-enter used to work, that is what i did all the time. i dont know why it does not work now. i beleive it has somthing to do with the security for the new FLASH formats.

Personally, i would not use FLASH, i would go with FLEX, its MUCH better to get the job done.

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:52 pm
by docaberle
It seems to work now. I don't think the changes were being uploaded to the board. Forgot to do "Publish" from flash to make a new html and swf. I'm so used to just making a swf file. With that the "Refresh" option in NBEclipse recognizes the changes and makes a new build.
I just put in the 10.1.1.8 below into the adobe flash file. This is the IP of the 5270.

if (!socket.connect("10.1.1.8", DestPortNum)) {
textStatus.text = "** socket.connect() failed!";
}

Thanks a lot for helping. I've played with Flex before, but I know Flash so much better. Someday I'll switch over possibly but for what I'm doing Flash is great.

Re: Flash IDE without html page

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:57 pm
by seulater
Glad to hear you got it working