MOD5213 Baud Rate screwup

Discussion to talk about hardware related topics only.
Post Reply
stockel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:16 am

MOD5213 Baud Rate screwup

Post by stockel »

Hi,

I was trying to set the baud rate on my MOD5213 to 57.6 kBaud, and somehow it got set to 51712 instead and now I can't communicate with it. Is there any way to recover from this?

Thanks, Jim
User avatar
lgitlitz
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:43 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: MOD5213 Baud Rate screwup

Post by lgitlitz »

Fist see if your PC UART supports advanced baud rates. Right click on the com port in device manager and look at the com port properties. My newer computer has an adv. tab here with a button to configure advanced bauds. I can then create any baud by changing the clock or divide registers. The custom baud will override then override the baud set in MTTTY. This will only be visible if your com port hardware supports it.

Another possible solution is to make a weird baud rate converter with another MOD5213/microcontroller to allow you to change the monitor settings.

SimpleOpenSerial( 0, 115200 );
SimpleOpenSerial( 1, 51712 );

while(1){
if( charavail(0) ) writechar( 1, getchar( 0 ) );
if( charavail(1) ) writechar( 0, getchar( 1 ) );
}

-Larry
stockel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:16 am

Re: MOD5213 Baud Rate screwup

Post by stockel »

Thanks for the suggestions Larry. It looks like my computers don't support non-standard baud rates. Sometime when I have $39 worth of spare time, I'll try another MOD5213 as you suggested and write a quickie to pass characters through. In the mean time I'll keep it as a reminder to be more careful.

I was hoping there might be a way to re-flash the monitor or reset it to defaults, but I presume I could only do that through the main serial port which has the goofy baud rate.

Cheers, Jim
tmcneill
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:46 am

Re: MOD5213 Baud Rate screwup

Post by tmcneill »

You could use any microcontroller to do what he posted. Also try booting to a live linux CD and use it. It probably works better with a desktop or laptop with a real serial port instead of a USB serial.

Thomas
Post Reply